Skip Navigation

Primary Faculty

Rafi Ahmed

Immunology and pathogenesis of chronic viral infections; immunological memory and vaccine development.

Email: rahmed@emory.edu

John D. Altman

T-Cell immune responses to HIV infection, vaccine development, and development of T-Cell memory

Email: john.altman@emory.edu

Rama R. Amara

HIV Vaccines, therapy and pathogenesis

Email: ramara@emory.edu

Jeremy M. Boss

Genetic and epigenetic regulation of immune system genes

Email: jmboss@emory.edu

Gordon Churchward

Transmissible antibody resistance and pathogenesis of group A streptococcus; mechanisms of transposition.

Email: gordon.churchward@emory.edu

Richard W. Compans

Virology, Vaccines

Email: rcompan@emory.edu

Cheryl L. Day

Cellular immunity and mechanisms of immune regulation in human Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection and HIV co-infection.

Email: cheryl.day@emory.edu

Brian Evavold

T-cell recognition of peptide:MHC antigens; autoimmunity; role of SHP-1 phosphatase.

Email: bevavol@emory.edu

Joshy Jacob

In situ analysis of B and T cell memory.

Email: jjacob3@emory.edu

Jacob Kohlmeier

The mucosal surfaces of the respiratory, intestinal, and genital tracts are primary portals of entry for a wide range of pathogens.

Email: jkohlmeier@emory.edu

Anice Lowen

Transmission of influenza virus from host to host and reassortment of influenza virus gene segments

Email: anice.lowen@emory.edu

Shonna M. McBride

Research in our laboratory centers on the emerging pathogen, Clostridium difficile. C. difficile causes chronic intestinal disease that is both difficult and costly to treat.

Email: shonna.mcbride@emory.edu

Edward Mocarski

Replication and pathogenesis of the cytomegaloviruses, including latency, host modulation and host response to infection.

Email: mocarski@emory.edu

Charles Moran

Bacterial development; microbial genetics; gene expression during bacterial differentiation, RNA polymerase-promoter interactions and regulation of gene transcription.

Email: cmoran@emory.edu

Philip Rather

Regulation of gene expression in Acinetobacter baumannii and Proteus mirabilis.

Email: prather@emory.edu

William Shafer

Genetics of antibiotic resistance; antimicrobial peptides; transcriptional regulation of gene expression; mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis.

Email: wshafer@emory.edu

Sam Speck

Pathogenesis of gamma-herpesviruses and development of lymphoma and other cancers.

Email: sspeck@emory.edu

John Steel

Development of influenza virus vaccines; elucidation of molecular determinants of influenza virus transmission

Email: john.steel@emory.edu

David Steinhauer

Emerging infectious diseases, and molecular biology and genetics

Email: dsteinh@emory.edu